March on Washington

If I were at home, I would surely be in Washington this weekend, marching and yelling to release the increasing anger of impotence I feel as the American dream of democracy slips away unchecked.  But I am doing my marching upside down – exactly 12 time zones away – with a bunch of apolitical Taiwanese medicos; at least my anti-givernment jokes seem to fall on unresponsive ears.

I wrote my senate delegaion this morning, Snowe and Collins:

If I were not on the other side of the world, you know I would be in Washington, rain or shine.

I am very, very disappointed in the failure of the Senate and the Republican party to rein in this increasingly criminal administration.

Get your balls back, for Chrissake, and vote down this stupid war and check these jokers before we’re all paying for this for the rest of our lifetimes.

Earlier in the year I expected more out of you, but you caved.  Very craven – it was a moment for strong statesmanship, not politics as usual.  The history of American democracy will judge you harshly for not seizing that moment.  You are behind the times, and eventually the people will run you over.

I send my solidarity with all of you at home who sacrificed a weekend and some dollars to try and save the incresingly ephemeral American experiment.  On how many fronts does this administration have to fail in its appointed tasks before the Legislative and Judicial branches take back some power from this blatant and arrogant ‘small group of committed citizens’.  Margaret Meade meant that statement to refer to reformers, but now we can see that a small group of committed citizens has run away with our country, and we are seemingly powerless to get it back.

This is the first time since 1972, when I abondoned political protest as a method, that phrases like “Power to the People” and “Off the Pigs” – meaning not the bewildered police but the porkers at the top – begin to make sense again.

The failure of the Senate to act really does have this middle age strategist puzzled – you’d think they would want some power back after the last 6 years, and that they would see the value in stepping on these wackos – even as a venal strategy, let alone a principled position for the long-term health of our democracy.

As I have said here before, not impeaching is more of a constitutional crisis than impeachment, however futile or inconclusive or disruptive it might be.

Leave a Reply

