SP: Inconvenient

St Petersburg is not a city built for rain.  Long white nights or snow and darkness, yes; but rain flows down from the gutters across the pocked sidewalks, taking one’s eye from the stunning architecture to the dirty streets.  I am so tired I am stumbling – little sleep on the plane, little sleep on the first night in the room beside the traffic (air or noise? you decide).  But I cannot say “Please deliver me to my hotel”, it is not ‘convenient’, and I must go to dinner at a Georgian restaurant.  Very good food, and Armenian music reminiscent of Peter Gabriel’s Last Temptation score, but I am literally holding my head up.

Leave a Reply

